Channelling Walker Evans (trawling the archive 2)

Derelict car wash in country NSW

Derelict car wash in country NSW

New South Wales, 1984.

Back in the days when I shot film, whenever I was in a visual rut,  I often found that simply changing format would freshen up my eye.

Most of my work used to be on 35mm. So I borrowed an old 5×4 Speed Graphic and loaded up a couple of Grafmatic backs with Tri-X. The Speed Graphic was the first camera I used professionally when I became a photographer back in 1962 and I still have a great affection for this old work horse.

In a one-horse town on the road to Tamworth in northern New South Wales, I came across this derelict car wash. To me, it had  something of the timeless quality of the subjects of one of my heroes, Walker Evans.

Leave a comment

Filed under Australian, Photographer, Photography, Rob Walls

Leave a Reply

