Photographs, I take photographs! – A short rant

I’m of an age when I can remember when photography was just a craft; when photographers took “photographs” or at worst “made pictures”. These days we “make images” or “create imagery”. It is as if by anointing their pictures with oil of spin, today’s photographers think they can get people to take their work more seriously. Actually, I don’t make images: I still take photographs and in any discussion, pedantically insist on this description. Painters make paintings; photographers make photographs.

Unfortunately, the assault on photographic language doesn’t end here. Those who want to appear “in” and in the know (mainly insecure semi-pro Brits) like to refer to themselves as “togs”.

I’ve also noticed that Canon owners/poseurs are notorious for not using lenses. How do they make their “images” then? Check out any discussion of Canon lenses and they’ll be yacking on about their “glass”. In most instances this will be “L glass”, and “expensive” as though dollars expended requires the abandonment of any word as simply descriptive as “lens”.

Can anyone think of other examples?

2 Comments

Filed under Australian, Opinion, Photographer, Photography, Rob Walls

2 responses to “Photographs, I take photographs! – A short rant

  1. Unfair call Rob, I’ve shot with Canon gear since ’98 and I’ve never called my lenses glass!

    • The exception does not prove the rule, David. Do a search for “L glass” on any photo group and I bet you’ll turn up a bunch of messages. A google search turns up 29,500 references.

Leave a Reply

