Catching beauty…

Sometimes a photographer’s life can be mighty privileged. Last December, while working on the teenage television production, Castaway in Broome, I was given the opportunity to shoot photographs for the portfolio of one of the lead actors, 15 year old, Mikayla Southgate. Endowed with a translucent beauty, and a talent to match, Mikayla is an Australian actress to watch. If she persists in the business, I predict that she will go to the very top.

These are two of my favourite pictures from a shoot on Cable Beach:

Technical details:  Nikon D90, Nikkor 80-200mm 2.8 zoom, focal length 200mm,

ISO640 F2.8 @ 1/250 sec.

Technical details:  Nikon D90, Nikkor 80-200mm 2.8 zoom, focal length 155mm,

ISO640 F2.8 @ 1/640 sec.

2 Comments

Filed under art, Australian, Digital photography, Photographer, Photography, portraits, Rob Walls, Stock photography

2 responses to “Catching beauty…

  1. She’s got a gorgeous strong face, Rob.

    Photographing interesting people is one of the privileges of being a photographer. It is a profession where one has to like people and be a people’s person.

    No matter how frustrating it sometimes might be I have loved every day of my profession.

    Roel

    • She has indeed, Roel, with, I think the talent to match. Very intelligent, as well as beautiful.

      You are right about photographing interesting people being one of the privileges of being a photographer, but I don’t agree that you have to like them. When I read that, I immediately thought of Arnold Newman’s portrait of Alfried Krupp…and though not in the same league, my pictures of Alan Bond or John Howard. Both people that I loathed, but I enjoyed meeting and photographing them.

      As for the profession; I could not imagine doing anything better with my life…

Leave a Reply

