More “p” words…political correctness

What were they thinking? 

The museum The Winston Churchill’s Britain at War Experience has taken a PC stance on Winston Churchill’s penchant for good Havana cigars by turning the great man into a non-smoker. Full story in the Daily Telegraph As Sigmund Freud once said, “Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar.” Now I wonder what he would have thought of Winston’s Tommy gun?

But as R. Kipling saw it, “…a woman is only a woman, but a good cigar is a smoke.”

4 Comments

Filed under News, Opinion

4 responses to “More “p” words…political correctness

  1. Steve Glasgow

    What’s the difference between what the Museum has done and Orwell’s 1984?

  2. Not much I guess, Steve. But then the altering of history is not that uncommon. I find it funny that no one will own up to it.

  3. Interesting to see Winston with Tommy Gun…Last year when I was in the back-blocks of NZ a bloke pulled out a sten-gun…a very rudimentary weapon manufactured I was told by quickly converting bicycle factories into gun factories during ww11…he then insisted I have a shot with it. I fired about ten rounds into his lawn and he was well happy! Cheers Dave

    • I think this picture was used on a commemorative stamp, Dave. The UK postal service had no qualms about using a picture of a cigar-smoking, Thompson gunner. I’ve seen the Sten. Australia’s crude equivalent was the Owen gun. Both about as basic a weapon as could be imagined…I wonder how many of them are out there on the loose?

Leave a Reply

