Behind the Veil…

This morning, I spent a very profitable hour looking at this multimedia coverage of women in Afghanistan by the Toronto Globe and Mail. The story Behind the Veil – an intimate journey into the lives of Kandahar’s women by staff reporter Jessica Leeder and freelance photojournalist, Paula Lerner, is an outstanding example of the use of new media.

For me this is the finest combination of reporting, photojournalism and video used in coverage of a single subject, I’ve yet seen. If this is not the future of photojournalism, it comes very damned close.

Take the time to to shut out distractions and work your way through this report. It’s fully worth the effort…

10 Comments

Filed under Digital photography, documentary photography, News, Photography, Photojournalism

10 responses to “Behind the Veil…

  1. This is indeed an excellent way for photojournalism to
    use moving pictures rather than still photos only.

    Roel

    • What intrigues me is the way they were interwoven. Some of the video-work was of dubious quality; a bit rough and ready, but this somehow lent the report more veracity. I keep pondering how I employ this technique for my project. With the Nikon D90 it is just two clicks from still to HD video. Not sure I can change horses, from stills to video, in mid-stream though. Might experiment with this in the next couple of weeks.

  2. I’ve just had a quick peek, will check the story more when time allows, but it is very powerful.
    There are some clever people out there.
    Nice pick up Rob.
    I’m excited….after 4 years playing in the world of the cropped sensor, I’ve just held my breath and snaffled a 5D mark ii…with 24/105 and 580ex ii….a 17/40 on order from Honkers…to go with the rest of my kit… It is a whole new world….but the few shots I had time for, just blow me away…chalk and cheese.
    Sorry to divert from the subject….kid wif da new toy and all dat:)

    • Congratulations on the new Canon. I fully understand “kid wif da new toy”. It has always been my practice, to the amusement of my partner, to take new cameras to bed with me, to study the manuals. Wierd? Maybe. But I find it the best way to absorb the essential parts of the 500 page bibles that accompany cameras these days. And you might have seen in my blog that I actually made money doing just that with the G11.

      My next purchase will be whatever model replaces the Nikon D700. I’ve been deliberately buying D series lenses to replace the smaller sensor DX ones with that in mind. Have fun with that 5D.

      • Cheers Rob.

        The trouble for me is that any reading puts me to sleep.

        I love the idea of books, and I can walk through bookshops and admire the wonders created, but to read them? Not even with photography stuff.

        I really am a picture person. Hands on, that’s me.

        Books are a rare reference only.

        It has many drawbacks…damn attention span!!

        Anyhow, on your advice, perhaps I’ll just take the camera to bed with me…..for hands on work, research, of course 😉

      • Dave, I think the information absorbed just before going to sleep tends to be more easily retained…at least for me. I’ve been lucky in that being from the pre-television generation, reading is imprinted in my DNA. I never, ever, go to sleep without reading. I become near psychotic if I have less than three unread books close at hand. In travelling through Victoria a couple of months ago, I had a dozen of Hobart Lending Library’s volumes with me. (I wonder, is it illegal to take library property across state borders?)

        You’ll probably disagree with me, but I happen to think that a good photographer needs to absorb as much information about the world in any form they can, before they can express well-formed, valid opinions through their pictures. I realise that these days it doesn’t have to be from books, but the written word (whether from the screen of an iPad or from a printed page) is still the most powerful medium of expression. OK, there’s my view for the morning (expressed in written words). What’s next? I’m off to the library:-)

      • Theo.Bennett

        Bedding a new camera….?

        You profligate photographer you…! 🙂

        Still, keep it up as long as you can focus.

        And enjoy your birthday today Rob…!

        Me? I’m a long-time advocate of the Islamic veil. It’s
        kept me safe in a desperate situation, in a desperate land.

        I learned the trick from a Turkish photo journalist while mooching through one of the world’s hapless danger spots.

        The trick, though, is to remember to squat when answering all of nature’s calls 😉

        A heavy burqua also makes for a nifty camera “hide”.

        Damn…!

        I’ve probably invited a fatwa on us all…!

        Never mind.

        It’s your birthday after all, I’m sending you a choice of a snappy Fatwah or a happy Mary McKillop doll.

        – TDB

      • Where’d you get the idea it was my birthday? I’m already a couple months into my 68th year. August 27, mate. A camouflage burqa? That I’d like to see.
        You can hang onto the Mary McKillop doll. I really can’t believe that Australians actually swallow that sainthood crap. So much for the Age of Reason. They seem to be salivating over the event as though it were Olympic gold. The country must consider itself grown up, now it is a land of officially confirmed miracles. Gillard, as a card-carrying atheist is jumping through hoops trying to avoid saying the worng thing…Paul K wouldn’t have had that problem.

  3. Theo.Bennett

    As for transporting library books across the state lines, Bega Valley Shire Council has the answer.

    I’m a regular borrower of books from the libraries in their shire. Inevitably a few or more accompany me back in the car.

    If I’m reading a volume still I can always get an extension on line.

    Ah, the Internet. A “Black Hole of Time” one minute, a blesing the next.

    – tdb

    • I update my borrowings online. Can only do it three times though. Travelling in Tasmania is good…because you can return books to any library. It doen’t have to be the one you borrowed from.

Leave a Reply

