Visual musing on the Great Northern Highway…

Set off from Perth three days ago. First stop, the Benedictine monastery at New Norcia. Spent two nights camped in the bush, as I covered the 1650 kilometres to the iron-ore exporting town of Port Hedland in the Pilbara. Here is a set of pictures from my exploration of this out-of-the-way part of Australia. For those of you who feel that there are just too many pictures of me, this IS my blog, and it’s my way of keeping in touch with family I miss and haven’t seen in over a month.

Checking in to the New Norcia Hotel connected to the old Spanish mission and Benedictine monastery at New Norcia © Rob Walls 2011

All things to all people. Facade, Mt Magnet © Rob Walls 2011

Some meaty alliteration in Mount Magnet © Rob Walls 2011

My camp about 30 km north of Meekatharra © Rob Walls 2011

I guess in a landscape where is the custom to shoot-up roadsigns, this might be considered an intelligent diversionary tactic © Rob Walls 2011

Crossing the Tropic of Capricorn © Rob Walls 2011

Visual poem from the Auski roadhouse in the Pilbara © Rob Walls 2011

6 Comments

Filed under art, Australia, Australian, Digital photography, documentary photography, Photography, Photojournalism, Rob Walls, Stock photography, travel

6 responses to “Visual musing on the Great Northern Highway…

  1. there are never too many photos of you good looking self, Rob. Sgain so well captured what the remote parts of Australia are about! Looking forward to hearing all the stories when you finally get to Fremantle.

    Roel

  2. trish pepper

    Rob You are so close … we are just another 600 ams further up the track. Come to Broome……

    • I’m sorely tempted, Trish, but 600km is nothing to you West Australians. To a Tasmanian that’s half way round the world. Another 1200km on my trip at this stage would make it too much of a rush on my way home. Before I meet Sulyn and my daughter in Melbourne, I have to take a side-trip to Sydney and Brisbane. I’ll be in Broome in August. Look forward to seeing you…

  3. Irene walls

    Love your portrait in the frame inside a frame, and your campsite, and they are all great shots Rob.

    • Thank you Irene…this blog is, I must say, unashamedly self-indulgent, but a great way of letting family and friends know where I am and what I’m doing as I roam far and wide across the country. Begin heading south towards Perth tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

